Bringing CNS Members Together to Make Children’s Lives Better


42th CNS Annual Meeting

The 42nd Annual CNS Meeting in Austin came close to backing up the Lone Star State’s brag that “Everything is Bigger in Texas,” finishing 2nd among all preceding meetings for the number of attendees, exhibits and posters. It did chalk up a number of notable “firsts,” however, including

  • Presentation of the first Blue Bird Circle Training Director Award (to Harvey Singer)
  • Presentation of the first M. Richard Koenigsberger scholarship, honoring the recently deceased 2012 Lifetime Achievement Awardee (to Louis Dang, from the University of Michigan)
  • Presentation of the first Bernard D’Souza International Fellowship Award to a child neurologist from Kenya (to Sam Gwer)
  • On-line streaming of the first CNS News Wrap, a lively and insightful overview of the day’s proceedings featuring presenters in conversation with program planning committee members; the program was supported by a grant from Eisai, Inc.

CNS Annual Meeting Program

CNS Awards

Hower Award
John Bodensteiner, MD (Rochester, MN)

Bernard Sachs Award
Tallie Z. Baram, MD (Irvine, CA)

Roger & Mary Brumback Lifetime Achievement Awards
Arthur Rose, MD (Brooklyn, NY)

A. David Rothner, MD (Cleveland, OH)

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award
Douglas Postels, MD (East Lansing, MI)

Philip R. Dodge Young Investigator Award
Peter Tsai, MD (Boston, MA)

42th CNS Annual Meeting Sponsors