Bringing CNS Members Together to Make Children’s Lives Better


2016 Presidential Symposium – Kenneth Mack, MD, PhD

About the Speakers

Carl E. Stafstrom, MD, PhD

Carl E. Stafstrom, MD, PhD

Carl E. Stafstrom, M.D., Ph.D., is the Lederer Endowed Chair of Pediatric Epilepsy, and serves as the Director of Pediatric Neurology and Director of the John M. Freeman Pediatric Epilepsy Center.  

Dr. Stafstrom received his medical degree from the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle, with residencies at the University of Washington Medical Center and Tufts New England Medical Center, as well as fellowships at Harvard for neurology research and Boston Children’s Hospital in clinical neurophysiology, electroencephalography, and epilepsy.

Dr. Stafstrom previously served as Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health and Chief of Pediatric Neurology at American Family Children’s Hospital at UW Madison.

Kenneth J. Mack, MD, PhD

Kenneth J. Mack, MD, PhD

Dr Kenneth Mack is Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.   His clinical interests involve working with patients who have chronic headaches, as well as patients with movement disorders.  His publications deal with the characteristics and treatment of children with chronic headaches, with particular interests in the research question of what is associated with the transformation of episodic headaches into chronic headaches.

Dr Mack obtained his MD and PhD degrees from the University of Illinois, Urbana.  From there, he trained in Pediatrics and Child Neurology at Washington University in St Louis. He received the CNS Young Investigator Award in 1991 (the award was renamed in honor of Dr. Philip R. Dodge in 2004).

Dr. Mack has been involved in leadership positions in the International Child Neurology Association, the American Headache Society, and the Child Neurology Society. He was elected CNS President by his peers in 2015, completing his two-year term in October, 2017; he currently serves on the CNS Board as Past-President.