Bringing CNS Members Together to Make Children’s Lives Better


Nomination Deadline Extended: Tuesday, November 15, 2022

The Child Neurology Society announces a prestigious award to recognize a life-long commitment to child neurology, patient care, and humanism in medicine. Nominations for one of two 2023 CNS Roger and Mary Brumback Memorial Lifetime Achievement Awards should be submitted on the CNS website on or before September 20, 2022 (Note: Extension – we are extending the nomination period until November 15, 2022). Nominations will be reviewed by the Awards Committee in October/November 2022. Recipients of the 2023 Lifetime Achievement Awards will be notified prior in mid-December 2022. Two awards will be presented at the 52nd CNS Annual Meeting, October 4-7, 2023 in Vancouver, BC (Time & date of Kenneth F. Swaiman Legacy Luncheon TBD).

Eligibility Criteria

  1. The nominee has been a member of the Child Neurology Society for at least 20 years.
  2. The nominee is recognized for an outstanding commitment to child neurology, patient care, and humanism in medicine, as assessed by the nominator(s), colleagues, trainees, and patients and their families.
  3. The nominee is recognized for leadership or service to the Child Neurology Society.
  4. The nominee is recognized for a life-long career devoted to child neurology as a clinical discipline, whether as a practitioner, clinical investigator, or advocate for the principles of the Child Neurology Society.


  1. Submit an electronic nomination online
  2. Merge the following documents into a single PDF file (no .doc or .docx formats):
    1. Letter of Nomination, 1-5 pages in length, double-spaced. The letter should include a statement of the applicant’s eligibility for this award, as outlined above.
    2. A recent copy of the nominees’ curriculum vitae.
    3. Up to 3 additional letters of support (optional). A single nominator should coordinate combining CV and up to three letters of support into a single PDF file.
  3. Online nominations must be uploaded to the CNS website on or before November 15, 2022
  4. The 2023 awardees will be informed of the Award Committee’s decision by December 31, 2022.
  5. The award recipient and her/his introducer will have 15-minutes to present at the Kenneth F. Swaiman Legacy Reception held at the 52nd  CNS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, BC (October 4-7, 2023). Other awards presented at the Legacy Reception include the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award, the CNS-PECN Outstanding Training Program Director Award, and the Taeun Chang Junior Member Awards.

For Questions Contact:
Monique Terrell, Executive Director/CEO

Given that only two Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented annually, submission of updated nominations for members not selected is encouraged the following year.