Bringing CNS Members Together to Make Children’s Lives Better


Nomination Deadline: October 31, 2023

Dr. Martha Bridge Denckla pioneered the field of Developmental Cognitive Neurology. A master clinician and beloved mentor to physicians, neuropsychologists, and teachers, her research has revolutionized our understanding of autism, learning disabilities and ADHD, as well as the role of the motor system in disorders of cognitive development. The Child Neurology Society announces a prestigious new award in Dr. Denckla’s name to honor a physician-scientist (e.g., child neurologist, neurodevelopmental disabilities physician, or related pediatric sub-specialist) of national and/or international status. Nominees should be conducting ongoing human-subjects research with relevance to children with neurological disorders, especially neurodevelopmental disabilities, using cognitive/behavioral/psychological, cognitive neuroscientific, epidemiological, clinical, and/or related approaches. Eligibility is not limited to CNS members.

Nominations for the 2024 Martha Bridge Denckla Award should be submitted on or before October 31, 2023. Nominations will be reviewed by the Awards Committee in November/December 2023. The awardee will give a 25-minute presentation at the 53rd CNS Annual Meeting to be held November 11-14, 2024 in San Diego, CA, following a 5-minute introduction by a colleague of their choosing. The awardee will receive a modest honorarium, waived meeting registration, and travel/hotel reimbursement.

Eligibility Criteria

The nominee is a physician-scientist who is a child neurologist or NDD specialist (or related sub-specialist) of national and/or international status who is performing leading research in cognitive neuroscience or related investigation in human subjects with relevance to children with neurological disorders, especially neurodevelopmental disabilities, either genetic or acquired.


  1. Submit an electronic nomination online via this form.
    a. Enter the nominee’s contact information and why they are deserving of this award.
    b. If you would like to submit nominations for multiple awards, please complete the submission form for each award, returning to the award submission link for each award nomination.
    c.  New for 2023: no letters of recommendation or CVs are required in order to submit a nomination.
  2. Additional documents may be requested from the nominee by the awards committee at a later date.
  3. Nominations must be completed through this form by October 31, 2023. 
  4. The 2024 awardee will be informed of the Award Committee’s decision by January 15, 2024.

For Questions Contact:
Bill Stanton, Membership Manager