Bringing CNS Members Together to Make Children’s Lives Better


Nomination Deadline: October 31, 2023

The Child Neurology Society announces the 2024 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award. This prestigious award will be presented to a practicing child neurologist or developmental pediatrician of any age who has been nominated by their peers and selected by the Child Neurology Society Awards Committee. The focus of this award is to recognize an individual who has shown extraordinary and ongoing humanism in their medical career. This award will be presented at the Legacy Reception held as part of the 53rd CNS Annual Meeting to be held November 11-14, 2024 in San Diego, CA.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. An active member of the Child Neurology Society
  2. Ongoing contributions to humanism in medicine
  3. Demonstrates compassion and empathy in the delivery of patient care
  4. Shows respect for patients, families, and co-workers
  5. Demonstrates cultural sensitivity in working with patients and family members of diverse backgrounds
  6. Displays effective, empathic communication and listening skills
  7. Understands a patient’s need for interpretation of complex medical diagnoses and treatments and makes an effort to ensure patient comprehension
  8. Comprehends and shows respect for the patient’s viewpoint
  9. Is sensitive to the patient’s psychological well-being, and identifies emotional concerns of patients and family members
  10. Engenders trust and confidence
  11. Displays competence in scientific endeavors


  1. Submit an electronic nomination online via this form.
    a. Enter the nominee’s contact information and why they are deserving of this award.
    b. If you would like to submit nominations for multiple awards, please complete the submission form for each award, returning to the award submission link for each award nomination.
    c.  New for 2023: no letters of recommendation or CVs are required in order to submit a nomination.
  2. Additional documents may be requested from the nominee by the awards committee at a later date.
  3. Nominations must be completed through this form by October 31, 2023. 
  4. The 2024 awardee will be informed of the Award Committee’s decision by January 15, 2024.
  5. The nominee and their introducer will have 15 minutes to present at the Kenneth F. Swaiman Legacy Reception. Other awards presented at the Legacy Reception include the Roger & Mary Brumback Lifetime Achievement Awards, the CNS-PECN Outstanding Training Director Award, and the Tauen Chang Junior Member Awards.

For Questions Contact:
Bill Stanton, Membership Manager

Given that only one award is presented annually, submission of nominations for members not selected is encouraged the following year.