The Child Neurology Society established a scholarship award in 2013 to honor the memory of the 2012 CNS Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Dr. M. Richard Koenigsberger. The criteria, as agreed upon by close friends and protégées, Drs. Leon Epstein, Jerry Mendell and Mike Painter call for awarding a $300 scholarship to the CNS Junior Member/resident submitting the best abstract in the following areas of Dick's particular interests: neonatal neurology, genetic diseases, HIV or metabolic disorders. This scholarship, in tandem with a pre-existing grant program underwriting waiving of registration fees for residents presenting work at the CNS Annual Meeting, should significantly defray costs related to attending the annual fall meeting that Dick so regularly and enthusiastically participated in, characteristically using it as a forum for further engaging and mentoring young and upcoming neurologists.

Previous M. Richard Koenigsberger Scholarship Award recipients:

2013: Louis Dang, MD (Ann Arbor, MI)
"Subdural hemorrhage associated with antithrombotic therapy in infants with cerebral atrophy"

2014: Joshua Bear, MD (San Francisco, CA)
"Maternal Infections During Pregnancy and Cerebral Palsy in the Child”

2015: Vincent Carson, MD (Pittsburgh, PA)
“Natural History of Metachromatic Leukodystrophy”

Click here to read the October 2012 profile of M. Richard Koenigsberger, MD written by Robert S. Rust, MD