Minneapolis, MN, June 6, 2018 - The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) is pleased to announce the names of four newly accredited UCNS fellowship training programs. Programs attaining UCNS accreditation status offer the core curriculum established by the subspecialty and meet required quality standards established by the UCNS.

Accreditation is a voluntary process of evaluation and peer review based on UCNS accreditation standards. Fellows who complete a UCNS-accredited program meet the training eligibility requirements to apply for certification in the subspecialty. There are now 197 UCNS-accredited training programs in UCNS-recognized neurologic subspecialties. UCNS congratulates the following programs and their program directors in achieving UCNS accreditation effective June 1, 2018:

Headache Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
Program Director: Natalia Murinova, MD

Children’s Health System of Dallas/University of Texas Southwestern, Dallas
Program Director: gtonia Sabo, MD

Neurocritical Care
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
Program Director: Kyle Hobbs, MD

Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center/University of Miami
Program Director: Deborah Heros, MD

Training programs interested in applying for accreditation will find application and program requirement information for each subspecialty under “Accreditation” at UCNS.org. Applications received by the December 1, 2018 deadline will be reviewed for accreditation in the spring of 2019.

The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties is a 501(c)(6) nonprofit organization with a goal of enhancing the quality of patient care by accrediting physician training programs that meet the quality standards set by the UCNS and awarding certification to physicians who demonstrate their knowledge in one or more of the nine UCNS neurologic subspecialty areas. There are currently 2,823 UCNS-certified physicians and 197 accredited fellowship training programs across nine neurologic subspecialty areas.