Bringing CNS Members Together to Make Children’s Lives Better


Nominations are now being accepted for an annual award given by the Child Neurology Society and the Professors of Child Neurology recognizing outstanding performance by a child neurology or neurodevelopmental pediatrics training director. The award recipient will receive a $1000.00 honorarium and plaque, and will be recognized at the 50th CNS Annual Meeting as well as in CNS Connections and the CNS website. Previous recipients of the CNS-PCN Training Director Award are Harvey Singer (2013), Steve Leber (2014), Rob Rust (2015), David Urion (2016), Sid Gospe (2017) Bruce Shapiro (2018), and Karen Ballaban-Gil (2019). No award was given in 2020.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Nominees should be a current or former child neurology residency program director.
  2. The award recipient should have demonstrated leadership and vision in local program development, curriculum development, innovation in teaching methods, or training requirements.
  3. The awardee should inspire in trainees and colleagues alike a passion for the practice of child neurology. Nominees must be living at the time of selection.
  4. Nominees may not currently be serving as members of either the CNS or PCN board of directors.


  1. Prepare a single PDF file with
    • A primary letter of nomination
    • Up to three additional letters of support
    • Nominee’s CV. No signatures are required.
  2. Email PDF file to Roger Larson, CAE, Executive Director, CNS (; cc Nancy Bass, MD, President, Professors of Child Neurology (
  3. Deadline: Complete nomination must be received on or before May 25, 2021
  4. Review and selection will be conducted by a joint selection committee comprised of two members of the Child Neurology Society and three members of the Professors of Child Neurology (PCN).
  5. The 2021 awardee will be informed of the committee’s decision by June 1, 2021.
  6. Questions? Contact Roger Larson, Executive Director, Child Neurology Society (; Tel: 651-486-9447